first week

I’ve had such a good/busy few days! I went to a forró (a dance typical to the northeast of Brazil) lesson- way out side my comfort zone, but so worth it.

Screen Shot 2015-08-10 at 1.44.56 PM

I had my first Portuguese lesson as well. The lesson plan is for little kids just starting Portuguese, so the teacher had no idea what to do with me. I have to trace the letters of the Portuguese words, and if I don’t dot an ‘i,’ she corrects it… hahhahah! It is useful though, the teacher says the word and I repeat it back to her, so I can hear how you pronounce certain letter combinations in Portugese. I can tell even in a week my Portuguese is so much better. In no way is it even decent, and I still have no idea what’s going on 97% of the time, but I can at least sometimes understand what I am being asked, and even answer occasionally.

I can’t say it enough, my host family is amazing. My host siblings are so helpful and fun. I watched Star Wars for the first time with them the other night. I also see my vovó (grandmother) a lot. She always has lots of questions about Canada which is nice. We go over to her house for lunch or tea quite often, and it is her beach house that we visit on Sundays.

I had so much fun playing soccer in the garage barefoot with my siblings, laughing when I tripped over the ball, or kicked it into a bush. It was explained to me that Brazilians are born to play soccer. In my city, there are designated soccer fields along the street and after dinner, each one has a game going. It’s crazy

It was Clara’s (my host sister who is leaving for her exchange in a few days) going away/birthday party on Friday. it was so different, but a lot of fun. I got to talk with so many people!

IMG_1580

IMG_3947

IMG_3948Even a banner for me!

We had no school on Friday or Saturday (yes, I will normally go to school on Saturday. What?) because of the massive event going on in our school. It was basically a competition between classes, with all kinds of sports, chess, checkers, and an opening ceremony. I even played volleyball on my class’ team! We lost by a landslide, but it was actually really fun, and I even got the ball over the net a few times.

IMG_1625 Coolest team.

Sundays with my host family are spent at the beach house, it’s unbelievable!IMG_3953

IMG_1593 Clara and Valentina on the quad.

IMG_3958On Sunday we had crab. They are still alive and moving when you put them into the pot of boiling water. Super creepy, but super delicious.

I love this country already!

Tchau,

Emily

10 thoughts on “first week

  1. Emily! You are a super star! A team player in a team jersey….woohoo! I am so grateful for your host family and your lovely siblings and cousins and friends and all the kindnesses they are giving you. Thanks for sharing all the photos! Love you big huge girlfriend xo

    Like

  2. Emily: We are thinking of you and the fabulous time you are experiencing in Brazil. Bill and I are sooooooo happy for you. The beach and pool look heavenly and poor Chloe stuck in the hot Kootenays! Have pity on us. Your Portuguese will improve rapidly and in 6 months you will not believe the progress through natural absorption. Love your pictures and blog. You look like a natural on the dance floor.
    Hugs to you. Have fun. love liz and Bill in Vancouver.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily,
    I will love reading your blog this year. You were a wonderful student back in grade 4 and i know this family is so lucky to have you live with them during your exchange. Keep up the great writing

    Like

  4. Wow Emily! Loved reading all about it and good for you for wading right into the life there without a ripple! Will enjoy your blogging skills and all the pix.

    Like

  5. Emily!!! Thank you so much for writing this blog! I LOVE reading about your experiences. I’m thrilled that your host family is so lovely and I know we will all be in awe when we hear you speaking fluent Portuguese a year from now 😉
    I can’t wait for your next blog and pictures! Sending lots of love!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Emily,
    Thanks to Sally I have the ability to follow your posts. I love your descriptions with percentages, your expressions of emotion, what you see, feel, hear. You are taking us along on your journey. Must appreciated. I like the explanation of the school day where you played games and had an opening ceremony. I wonder if the country is getting ready for the upcoming summer Olympic games in 2016 by hosting these days at school. Enjoy your adventure Emily.

    Like

Leave a comment